Faculty History

The Faculty of Environmental Design is located within the core of the Main Campus, Samaru. It was established at the founding of the Ahmadu Bello University in 1962. The Faculty started with seven departments and has grown over the past forty nine years into not only one of the largest faculties in the University with seven degree awarding departments, but also one of the largest faculties of Environmental Design in any Nigerian University.

The foundation Departments were Architecture, Building, Urban & Regional Planning.

The Faculty has grown tremendously over the years and now has staff strength of academic staff, non-academic staff, Technologist/Technical Staff, Administrative Staff and Junior Staff in all the Departments.

The Faculty offers four and five-year degree courses leading to a B.Sc. (Hons) degree in single subjects in all departments of the faculty.